Should there be a standard writing model?

We all learn the 5 paragraph essay model in school and we always use it or else we lose points on our papers. When reading “The Elements of Literacy”, the part about the no child left behind act stood out to me. Maybe the standard of writing was changed so that all children were judged on the same level. If that is what happened then I have mixed feelings about it. While the 5 paragraph model gives a base model to everyone it should not be the standard since there is no standard in education higher then high school. It seems to me that there are two sets of gatekeepers for writing papers. There are the 5 paragraph model gatekeepers and there are the free range writing gatekeepers. Most people get pass the first set of gatekeepers but not everyone gets past the second set. This provides the issue, should there be a set writing model that the entire world uses?

If I were to write an essay that contained 7 paragraphs in high school, I would have lost points for not following the model my teacher wanted but once I got to college and learned that teachers don’t use this model, my mind exploded a bit. I mean I spent about nine to teen years of my life being told that I had to write using the 5 paragraph essay model or I was writing wrong. Why are we being taught something that does not hold true in college? “Blaze’s experience” brings up a different point. A lot of teachers use Moodle to grade essays and homework now and when they set up the grading rubric in Moodle they unintentionally make it so that the 5 paragraph model works the best so most students use it and are not as creative as they could be. While I like being creative when I write, I don’t want my grade and work to suffer because I have to write a certain way. I think that the 5 paragraph model should be introduced as a model and used in middle school but once in high school students should be able to write the way they want to and be graded on the same level as each other even if it means that a teacher has to read every single essay.

One thought on “Should there be a standard writing model?

  1. I totally agree with the last sentence in that the five paragraph model is good for teaching younger kids but we should start to move away from it in high school, great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

